Christ's Hope Logo

Orphaned and forgotten: Africa’s children

A tour in the name of hope

Every day, almost 4,000 people in Africa die because of AIDS, many of which are parents. What happens to their children? “Until today, AIDS has robbed 17 million children of their mothers, their fathers, or both”, says UNICEF. In the traditional African extended families, whole generations die because of AIDS and the lack of medication. The old and the very young are left alone. It’s a humanitarian tragedy which hasn’t made the headlines for a long time, yet grows day by day.

We want to raise awareness of Africa’s forgotten children. Join us on an exceptional journey – the “Ride for Hope Coast to Coast Africa” – riding on motorbikes from one coast to the other. We’re an initiative of Christ’s Hope e.V. (Germany), an organization dedicated to helping those infected with and affected by HIV/AIDS in Africa.

Don’t look away!
Experience a motorbike tour through Africa – with us

We are going to show you how different African countries and regions deal with the subject of HIV/AIDS and what burdens the children have to bear. We show you places of hope and genuine help that you can support directly, such as the Christ’s Hope CarePoints, vital venues for orphans which are exclusively funded by donations and which provide the children with everything they need.

During our tour, you are going to find every one of our ideas and every aspect of your help for these essential projects on this website.

The AIDS crisis
Africa’s children need help

Sub-Saharan Africa remains the region of the world most affected by the AIDS epidemic. More than two thirds, 68 % of all infected people in the world live in this region (UNAIDS World AIDS report 2011).

Who cares for these orphaned children? Who gives them something to eat? Who helps them overcome their traumatic experiences? More and more of them have nobody who cares and provides for them. Many extended families break apart and are no longer able to perform this traditional task. The number of adults declines, while the number of orphans grows.

Christ's Hope Logo

Verwaist und vergessen: Afrikas Kinder

Eine Tour im Namen der Hoffnung

Jeden Tag sterben in Afrika fast 4000 Menschen an den Folgen von AIDS. Viele davon sind Eltern. Was passiert mit ihren Kindern? „Bis heute hat Aids 17 Millionen Kindern ihre Mutter, ihren Vater oder beide Elternteile geraubt“, so Unicef.

In den traditionellen afrikanischen Großfamilien sterben ganze Generationen an den Folgen von Aids, ohne Zugang zu Medikamenten. Übrig bleiben die Alten und die Kinder. Eine humanitäre Katastrophe, die längst keine Schlagzeile mehr wert ist, und die täglich wächst.

Wir wollen auf die vergessenen Kindern Afrikas aufmerksam machen. Begleiten Sie uns auf eine ungewöhnliche Reise: „Ride for Hope Coast to Coast Africa“ – mit dem Motorrad von Küste zu Küste. Wir sind eine Initiative von Christ's Hope e.V., einer Organisation, die von HIV und AIDS betroffenen Menschen in Afrika hilft.

Schauen Sie nicht weg!
Erleben Sie mit uns eine Motorrad-Tour durch Afrika

Wir zeigen Ihnen, wie verschieden in afrikanischen Ländern und Regionen mit dem Thema HIV und AIDS umgegangen wird und welche Last die Kinder tragen müssen. Und wir zeigen Ihnen Orte der Hoffnung und der konkreten Hilfe, an denen Sie sich direkt beteiligen können. Orte, wie die für Waisenkinder lebensnotwendigen Anlaufpunkte, die CarePoints von Christ's Hope. In den über Spenden finanzierten Kindertagesstätten werden die Kinder mit allem versorgt, was sie benötigen.

Jede unserer Ideen, jede Ihrer Hilfen für lebensnotwendige Projekte, können Sie sich hier auf unserer Webseite während der Tour anschauen.

Die AIDS-Krise
Afrikas Kinder brauchen Hilfe

Afrika südlich der Sahara bleibt die Region der Erde, die am meisten von der AIDS-Epidemie betroffen ist. Rund zwei Drittel, 68 Prozent aller Infizierten der Welt leben in dieser Region. (UNAIDS WORLD AIDS REPORT 2011)

Wer kümmert sich um die die verwaisten Kinder? Wer gibt ihnen zu essen, wer hilft ihnen, ihre traumatischen Erlebnisse zu verarbeiten? Immer mehr von ihnen haben niemanden, der sich ihrer annimmt und sie versorgt. Viele Großfamilien, die das traditionell übernommen haben, brechen zusammen. Die Zahl der Erwachsenen sinkt, während die Zahl der verwaisten Kinder steigt.